UEFA get tough with Financial Fair Play Rules

UEFA have announced that they are going to withhold 23 clubs’ share of European prize money due to their failure to pay debts to other clubs or tax bills.

Sporting Lisbon, Fenerbahce, Malaga and Europa League champions Atletico Madrid are among the clubs not to have provided UEFA with the required information, but there are no British sides on the list.

The sanctions follow the first elements of UEFA’s financial fair play rules coming into force regarding unpaid debts, with the prize money temporarily withheld pending further investigation.

The action was taken by the UEFA Club Financial Control Body (CFCB) investigatory chamber, chaired by former Belgian Prime Minister Jean-Luc Dehaene.

UEFA said in a statement: “The clubs participating in UEFA club competitions had to provide information regarding the status of any overdue payables as at 30 June 2012.

“The CFCB investigatory chamber has identified that important overdue payables towards other clubs, and/or towards employees or social/tax authorities existed in 23 cases.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: